how to have friends and be a good person

7 Mar

I’m almost 20 years old (scary!) and have learned a lot since my senior year of high school. For example, I’ve learned that if you want it bad enough you can make it happen, first impressions aren’t always accurate, sometimes no matter how bad you want to change a person you can’t, and that the best thing you can be in life is real—real to yourself and the people you love. As immature that I sometimes feel, I’ve grown-up a lot in the past three years. I’ve learned to stick up for myself and for my friends, I’ve learned how to compromise, and I’ve learned that sometimes you shouldn’t give people the benefit of the doubt. There are bad people in this world, and I realize it even though I don’t like to believe it. I don’t mean bad people as in murderers or rapists (they’re evil people) but bad people as in conniving bitches and liars or a mixture of the two – fakes.

Fake people are tainted and incomplete, and deep down you know their core is rotten. These people are ones that are weak and vulnerable, and like to protect themselves with manipulation and deceit. The root of their issues lies with their insecurities whether they are insecure with their looks or personality, friendships and relationships. It’s a never-ending cycle: since they are so fake, they have no friends (or very shallow friendships), no real relationship (or one where he constantly cheats on her and vice-versa) and probably not comfortable in their own skin (because she is unhappy with her life) and thus they have to act fake (like everything else in their lives). I feel sorry for fakes (like regina george in mean girls) because eventually they’re gunna get hit by a bus (*metaphor*). A fake person uses bullying to raise her self-esteem. She will project her insecurities upon her victims to make herself feel better. (i.e. attack a victim’s weight? She probably is a whale. Attack a victim’s looks? She probably looks like a horse. Etc.)

at college I realized I don’t need negativity in my life. i can choose who I hang out with and what I do. I can choose to surround myself with people I love and who love me, and I do. I like to say what I think, and I like my actions to reflect my thoughts. i never want people to think i’m something i’m not. i’m a good judge of character, and I care about the same people that care about me. I don’t have time nor do I want to deal with stupid things and immature people. I’m lucky that I’m a strong person and I don’t let shit faze me (cus haters gunna hate.) like marilyn monroe said, “when it comes down to it, I let them think what they want. If they care enough to bother with what I do, then I’m already better than them.” In my opinion, I think if someone wants to act fake, go ahead and be fake but don’t expect people to be fooled. People are smart, they can see through most acts. This is why I try to keep it real. I’m a realist. I’ve learned that I can’t have everything I want nor will everyone want to be my friend. i might not get the grade I think I deserve, nor will every guy i like think I’m attractive. But that doesn’t bother me because that’s life. I don’t think every guy I see is hot, or every girl I talk to is cool. I don’t think I can get an A on a test when I didn’t study. I understand some people don’t click, some are shy and some are outspoken. That’s life and it isn’t perfect. I know that I can count on the people I love and trust and they count on me. they know I’m flawed, and I know they make mistakes but it’s a constant balancing act. They know I’m not fake and I know that they’re not fake.  I’m happy with myself, and I’m loyal to the people i love and that is why I have real friends :) take notes if you want anyone to like you, peacenluv, Mary.

2 Responses to “how to have friends and be a good person”

  1. jeannie March 7, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    the sweetest bitch you’ll ever meet…

  2. virginia March 7, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    love this so much

Leave a Reply

